Aloha Kakahiaka

Aloha Kakahiaka (Good Morning)!

So this is officially my first blog post and I’m so excited to be typing this post while taking in this incredibly amazing view on the third largest island in Hawaii, Oahu.  Today is June 29th, it is my second day here on the island and I’ve been up since 3:30 am. I watched the sun rise from the balcony of my hotel room on the Turtle Bay resort.

I’m so grateful and bless yet again to be able to take this trip on behalf of my job for our year-end review with our advisory board meetings. I can’t wait to visit the Shangri La, which is the center of Islamic art and culture here on the island. The Shangri-La is an Islamic-style mansion built by  Doris Duke in 1936-1938, it was inspired from her time in the Middle East shortly after her honeymoon. I can’t wait to see what it looks like in person… its seems amazing from the pictures and  I’m SURE  that in person it will be even better!

If you aer reading this post hope that you like it and continue to read my other “Future Post” and live life vicariously through my eyes. I hope that this blog will help me with self-reflection, better voicing my opinions and thoughts, to tell stories and about my experiences! I’m very much an introvert and I would like to use this platform to tell about my experiences and voice my position on stuff!

It’s after 7am  here and I’m starting to see people move around… I guess I should go get some breakfast and explore some more so that I can have some stuff to blog about during and after my trip!

 

 

Author: courtneykatrice

I grew up in Prince Georges County, Maryland; I currently reside in Washington D.C. I am 27 years old and working towards a degree in political science, part time at Bowie State University. I work for a nonprofit that promotes the learning of Arabic and Middle Eastern cultures, as an operations/programs associate and I assist the executive director. My favorite color is lime green and I I love to travel, go to museums, read and listen to music. I’m mother to a 1 year old yorkie-poo , named Kristopher Jaxson better known as KJ! I really begin taking photos in high school for the year book and in an after school program called “ The Flat Earth Society”. I have always had a love for photography growing up but until most recently I was inspired to follow a dream and start to really explore my passions! I purchased a camera and begin taking shots of whatever I was most drawn too! I really love to take landscape, street photography, fashion, candid shots, conceptual shots, murals, animals and flowers! I love working with people especially in outdoor settings or just in the streets! Photography is my way of sharing my views of the world with others and it pleases me when I can capture unique moment's of others for them to share with their love ones! Waking up everyday and wanting to experience something new each day is what is motivates and inspires me most. Being in nature is also very impactful and helps me to think, it's very inspiring to know that there is so much here on earth for us to explore! Doing something adventurous like hiking or traveling and learning about history and diffrent cultures are all very inspiring to me and motivates me to keep creating. I aspire to travel internationally capturing cultivating abstract shots of places, animals, and people then share them with the world!

One thought on “Aloha Kakahiaka”

Leave a comment